Murky has closed. Long live Murky!

Jake remembers the dilapidated-by-love Clarendon coffee house. Result: Now I miss Murky and Jake.

He writes:

Nick has an intense passion for coffee and he passed that on to me on my first day of training at his existing Capitol Hill location. He gave us new employees twenty bucks and sent us down the street to Starbucks to order whatever we liked. Then we came back to experience the same drinks the Murky way. I’d consumed thousands of coffee beverages and spent countless nights in coffee shops, but I’d never paid close attention to what was in the cups. This all changed when I watched Nick deftly pour perfectly textured milk into espresso, a lovely rosetta forming on the surface of the cappuccino as if by magic. I’d never seen or tasted anything like it. To this day the memory informs my work as a barista and bartender; the best gift I can give new customers is recreating that feeling of astonishment that comes from witnessing a mundane drink transformed into something wonderful.

cappuccino1

1 Comment

Filed under Unkategorized

One response to “Murky has closed. Long live Murky!

  1. Thanks! We’ll catch up with some good coffee in Portland. Much easier to find here than in DC.

Leave a Reply

