Ode to the Discount Liquor Store in My Neighborhood

Whole Foods’s shelves were all too early bare,

But as til Thursday we will be snowed in,
Bare shelves could not stop me from going there.
To be quite frank I went for just one thing —
I wanted bourbon and I had forgot,
Their liquor license holds just wine and beer;
Reluctantly I found milk and the lot.
Without bourbon tho I remained afraid
Of snowy pangs when everything’s delayed.
Around the block I trudged in near despair
O Dear Logan why do you pleasures hide?!
Then tell-tale deadbolt and tall guard aware
The presence of a liquor store belied!
Gladly for under twenty dollars sold
Shelves stocked now with warming Kentucky gold.

Leave a comment

Filed under Unkategorized

Leave a Reply

