Monica Lewinsky’s First-Ever Public Speech

“Hello, I am Monica Lewinsky. You all are probably too young to know me, except for the rap songs of, well, everyone…. Many people have even told me to change my name… I was a twenty something who fell in love with her boss–it was just that my boss was the president… I was patient zero: the first person to have their reputation destroyed overnight…. When the Starr report was released I was in a crummy hotel in New York with a huge supply of m&m’s… I spent the day shouting ‘oh my god.’ That day I kept thinking ‘I want to die.’ Now my brother and his fraternity bro’s were privy to my most personal details… Thinking back I was nearly ‘humiliated to death.’ I am here today to speak out against cyber bullying. 54% of facebook users report cyber bullying. They say it takes a lifetime to build a reputation, but only a minute to lose it. In 1998: that Monica was born–the Monica of the media. Then I had my sense of self stolen. 

Today I have no idea how I survived. But having survived myself I want to help other victims of the shame game. Remember Carl Rogers: “the most personal is the most universal.”

Problem is I believe in power of story to change things for the better. I believe my story can help–to change the culture of humiliation.

I have been silent for a decade but now I must disturb the universe. In the end I am no proof rock. I want to be part of the solution. What we need is a solution. We have an empathy crisis.

Oscar Wilde: ‘I have said that behind sorrow there is always sorrow. Behind sorrow there is always a soul . . . . And to mock at a soul in pain is a dreadful thing.'”

(lifted from Facebook)

Leave a comment

Filed under Unkategorized

Leave a Reply

